Ten Kilos Heavier

but still hungry as ever

Breakfast at Cumulus Inc

leave a comment »

Cumulus Inc
45 Flinders Lane, Melbourne
03 9650 1445

Cu·mu·lus Inc.
n. A welcomed start to the work day.

It has been a while since I’ve been so excited to get out of bed on a weekday. Cumulus Inc made it well worth the freezing trek up to the CBD’s Spring St end. Much to my delight, we were seated immediately without having to wait at the bar. Unlike 7:30 on most nights, the restaurant was only one third full at 7:30 in the morning. Although,  it does get quite busy come 8 o’clock.

The place has a really laid back, lofty feel – like I had just woken up to a casual breakfast at a mate’s studio apartment…with the only light source being the dim glimpse of sunlight Winter has decided to bestow on us. Even though there were already quite a few tables waiting for their food when we put in our order, we were still able to be in and out within the hour, without feeling rushed for time. How the one chef managed to get the orders out reasonably quickly, all by himself, is beyond me.  Kudos to him.

Turkish baked eggs, spiced tomato, dukkah, labne

That was what I was looking forward to the night before, but turns out E wanted the same thing… So I thought I’ll try something different and scab a little bit of her dish. If my taste buds weren’t all awake, they were now! Not your ordinary breakfast and such a novel idea to have it come out in an iron cast pan. It had a Middle Eastern flavour that packed an adequate punch in the little spoonful I tasted. Now that I think about it, it wouldn’t have hurt to have ordered the same thing.

Smoked salmon, 65/65 egg, sorrel, apple and dill

The egg looks poached, but it’s actually slow cooked in its shell in 65 degrees for 65 minutes. It was light enough to make me not feel food fatigue in the morning, but enough to satiate me for the entire afternoon! Love the combination of apple, avocado and toast covered with warm, runny egg yolk.

English breakfast with blood sausage on toast

Looked delectable but not a fan of the blood sausage on toast. It’s not the food, just comes down to personal taste because S loves the blood *makes a funny face*.

I noticed I’ve been straying from my regular choice of scrambled eggs for breakfast. It’s a good sign – I’m adapting to change and variety.

Cumulus Inc. on Urbanspoon

Written by J.L

19 May, 2010 at 4:15 PM

Posted in $$$, Melb CBD

Leave a Reply

