Ten Kilos Heavier

but still hungry as ever

Co Do

with 2 comments

Co Do
196 Victoria St, Richmond
03 9421 2418

A catch up with gorgeous bestie led us to the inner city equivalent of Springvale, where she took me to her fav restaurant for pho. When it comes to good tasty pho, I have the assumption it can only be found in the scungiest of places (I am imagining a white tiled room, a la the original SAW movie).  My memory of the most delicious pho of all time was in a white tiled store front on Phu Quoc Island in 2008. Naturally, the first thing I asked was “Is this place scungy looking?” to which she replied with a “no”.

Prepared for standard Vietnamese fare, we walked into the decently packed Co Do and was greeted with organised chaos. The man was shouting over the noise to seat the few groups that had tried to squash themselves in the narrow entrance path. The place was painted a warm maroon with a continuous panel of mirrors along each wall, and with furniture native to cheap, no fuss eateries. We were seated right up at the back next to the till where everyone goes up to pay. Our explicit conversations would have to be toned down.

They had a huge menu to suit whatever tastebud it seems but our choices did not stray from the first page. Initially deciding on two bowls of pho, pork spring rolls, prawn rice paper rolls, the roasted quail and my four colour drink, we had come to the rational decision that it may be too much for the two of us.  So cancel the prawn rice paper rolls, thanks.

Roasted Quail

Food came out relatively quickly, though when one is busy with gossip, wait time is a non issue. My four colour drink was different to other watered down versions I’ve had in the past as I actually made a conscious note about being able to taste the coconut milk, rather than melted ice. The spring rolls was freshly fried, crunchy on the outside and hot on the inside, none of that soggy crap you sometimes get. The roasted quail was the favaourite dish of the night, with a spicy savoury sweetness to it. I love quail, and I love quail eggs, but my mother has warned of the high cholesterol content of both. Boo.

Pho

Our pho came out topped with a sufficient amount of meat and a delicate broth that wasn’t too salty.  I normally mix in a generous amount of Hoi Sin sauce (seafood sauce) provided on the table to give it a sweeter taste.  Service was acceptable and they promptly came over after I had knocked over my cup of tea, they did not bother us much after that which is perfectly fine with me. Overall, no complaints with anything except for the lack of chilli paste on our table and tea refill.  But kudos to the Roasted Quail dish!! Standard it was not!

Total came to just below $40. Not bad at all for the amount of food we had. I was completely stuffed at the end of the night.

Co Do on Urbanspoon

Written by J.L

14 March, 2010 at 1:29 PM

Posted in $, Inner City

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Don’t you find fresh chilli is better in pho than chilli paste anyway? I know I do! 🙂

    I think my favourite pho of all time would still have to be a Pho restaurant on Vo Thi Sau in Sai Gon. I think it’s called Hung Vuong, but I can’t be sure. I’m still planning on getting to Phu Quoc one day… need to get to the source for the best fish sauce in the world!

    Look forward to returning to Co Do to try that quail – it looks great.

    Billy

    17 May, 2010 at 12:40 PM

    • Billy, thanks for the rec! I’ll keep that restaurant in mind when I head to Vietnam later this year. I had a problem finding REALLY GOOD pho in HCMC (you’d think it wouldn’t be that hard to find, being Vietnam and all)…or maybe I just didn’t look hard enough.

      J.L

      17 May, 2010 at 12:56 PM


Leave a Reply

