Ten Kilos Heavier

but still hungry as ever

Best Sticky Date Pudding. Ever.

leave a comment »

Melbourne Supper Club
Level 1/161 Spring St, Melbourne
03 9654 6300

Funny how The European has been one of my favourite haunts but I’ve never actually paid any attention to that unassuming door right next to it. Ascending the flight of stairs to the Supper Club, I braced myself for some pretentious snobbery from the staff. To my surprise, it was quite the opposite, they were very accommodating on what seemed like a very busy Saturday night. Kudos to them for not judging our post-iceskating get up (or at least I couldn’t sense anything uppity about their attitudes).

The place is definately something. The decor is warm and old fashioned, with a mash-up of comfy barrel chairs and large leather couches. Offering only very dim lighting, it reminds me of a place that old men bring their dates to before taking them home for some sexy time. It set such a mood that one couple didn’t even make it home before the hanky panky started. But it’s not all like that. It is a great place to hang out till the wee hours of the morning without feeling like you’re holding the waitstaff back from finishing up – they close at 6am!

They have an extensive and expensive liquor list which I don’t care for, since I don’t drink, but I thought you might. I was there for some late night food that is not China Bar or Chillipadi. We shared the Crème Brulee, Sticky Date Pudding and I tried some of my friend’s Croque Monsieur (toasted ham and cheese, sounds ordinary, but far from it).

Crème Brulee, I don’t rate it at all, I could taste too much of the egg and the texture was airy and lumpy. Oh European, why did you have to take the Crème Catalana off your menu!!

The Sticky Date Pudding, on the other hand, sat invitingly in a generous amount of butterscotch sauce, enough to polish off the entire thing without a dry moment. So soft, so fluffy, so decadent, so bad for my waist line.

So coming back.

Melbourne Supper Club on Urbanspoon

Written by J.L

2 May, 2010 at 2:48 PM

Posted in $$, Melb CBD

Leave a comment